

MID WEST AREA Minutes of Annual General Meeting held via the internet platform 'Zoom' on Thursday 9 December 2021



Gaer Park MFC

Monmouth and Raglan MFC

Cardiff MAC

Swansea MFC

Present:

*Andrew Potts
*Mike Tiley
*Dean Mosley
Nicole Mosley

*Keith Setchell

*Christopher Cole *Jeremy Clarke *Keith Sedgwick

*Philip Charlesworth
*Vasandraj Pande
Alan Jacobs
*Graham Rowsell
*Chris Argent

Anthony Wright *Tommy Abdy-Collins

Allan Belcher
*John Pace
Martin Price
Ron Spencer
Simon James
John Walter
Chris Corrin
Graham Humm
Bryan Tucker

David Plummer

Andy Symons

Chairman
Secretary
Education Officer
Treasurer

Achievement Scheme Co-ordinator

Bryn Bach Park MFC Country Member

Malvern Soaring Association

Malvern Soaring Association

Fins over Gwent
Haverfordwest MFC
Monmouth & Raglan MFC
Barry Aeromodellers
Chedworth MAC

Country Member Swansea MFC Shropshire MFC

Gaer Park MFC

BMFA Club Support Officer Guest

*indicates a voting member.

- 1. It was noted that voting strength exceeded the threshold and that the meeting was quorate.
- 2. Approval of the Minutes of the AGM held on 17 November 2019 that the minutes be approved as circulated:

Proposed: Andy Potts (Chairman)

Seconded: Chris Cole Voting: unanimous

- 3. Matters arising from the minutes There were no matters arising.
- 4. Officers' reports:

All officers reported severely reduced or nil activity due to the effects and restrictions arising from the Covid pandemic. The Chairman reported that he had attended two Council meetings via Zoom which had proved very

effective. The Achievement Scheme Co-ordinator reported that he had managed to conduct one 'A' test between lockdowns.

The Education Co-ordinator, Treasurer and Achievement Scheme Co-ordinator all stated that they intended to vacate their positions. Members joined the Chairman in thanking them for their efforts while in office.

5. Accounts: The Treasurer tabled the draft accounts as at April 2021, which were noted. It was agreed that the accounts be adopted:

Proposed: Chris Cole Seconded: Dean Mosley

6. Ratification of Area Chief Examiners – The following Area Chief Examiners were ratified en bloc.

Richard Morris Helicopter
Chris Cole Power Fixed Wing
Keith Setchell Power Fixed Wing

Keith Setchell Power Fixed Wing
Tim Whitcombe Power Fixed Wing

Proposed: Dean Mosley Seconded: John Pace Voting: unanimous.

7. Election of Officers – The following officers were elected to serve for two years:

Member	Office	Proposed	Seconded
Andy Potts	Chairman	Mike Tiley	Chris Cole
vacant	Vice-Chairman		
Mike Tiley	Secretary	Chris Cole	Dean Mosley
Jeremy Clarke	Treasurer	Andy Potts	Chris Argent
Allan Belcher	Area Delegate	John Pace	Phil Charlesworth
Phil Charlesworth	Education Co-ordinator	Andy Potts	Dean Mosley
Chris Cole	Achievement Scheme Co-ordinator	Mike Tiley	Andy Potts
Andy Green/			
Jeremy Clarke	P.R.O./webmaster	Mike Tiley	Dean Mosley
Voting:	unanimous.		

8. Accounting Software: The outgoing Treasurer (Nicole Mosley) reported that she had been using some simple to use 'VT Accounts' software for the production of accounts for another activity and recommended its acquisition and use by the Area.

It was agreed that the new Treasurer (Jeremy Clarke) should liaise with Nicole to purchase the software and transfer to it the Area's accounts, and also to arrange transfer of the Bank account. It was also agreed that the Bank account signatories should be, the Chairman (Andy Potts), Treasurer (Jeremy Clarke) and Secretary (Mike Tiley)

Proposed: Mike Tiley Seconded: Chris Cole voting: unanimous

9. 'Zoom' Internet meeting platform. In view of the success in conducting the current meeting, it was agreed that a Zoom licence be purchased for the Area, to be used for its own meetings as well as Clubs in the Area. The PRO/webmasters to liaise on the acquisition:

Proposed: Mike Tiley seconded: Allan Belcher

voting: unanimous

10. Date & venue of the 2022 AGM

It was provisionally agreed that the next AGM would be held via Zoom at a date and time to be arranged in November 2022.

The Chairman closed the meeting at 9.00 pm.